Sensible Software 1989-1999 – Book Review and Retrospective – Gaming Respawn

Like most Amiga enthusiasts, Sensible Software hold a very special place in my heart. Cannon Fodder, a master class in level design that seethes with cynicism and irony about war, is one of my all-time favourite games. And I love the genre-defying Wizkid with its silly humour and off-the-wall antics, while in more recent years I’ve developed a strong appreciation of their ground breaking but much overlooked strategy game Mega Lo Mania.

But it’s the legendary Sensible Soccer that I ploughed the most hours into as a teenager. Even now I’m still impressed by the pace and fluidity of the action, the intuitive nature of the controls and player selection, the painstaking attention to detail, and the gentle humour that permeates the proceedings. Throughout the 90s, long past the Amiga’s shelf life, it was still the football game of choice for me and my mates. We felt pity for those suckers who played FIFA.

via Sensible Software 1989-1999 – Book Review and Retrospective – Gaming Respawn.

Leave a Reply

